Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Yiska
New Contributor

BPD - Attachment Issues

Hello everyone!

I'm new to this, it's my first post!

I have been diagnosed with depression, anxiety, Borderline Personality Disorder and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. One of the things that has been bothering me lately is attachment issues. I see a psychologist and she's the only person that I talk to. I don't really have any friends. I've been trying to work on building relationships with people, but it's so hard. I'd rather talk to my psychologist than anyone else. I have been seeing her weekly for about 3 years and It's like she's the only person that I feel comfortable talking to.

This has been the case for years and years. Ever since I was 13 years old(I'm 22 now), I have been seeing psychologists/counsellors and I get attached to them. The worse is after I have seen them for a few years, they move on or I can't see them anymore and then I feel lost. I get so devastated and it takes a long time for me to open up to anyone else. I haven't quite gotten over any of them. I still miss them so much. This has happened at least 4 times. I'm worried that my current psychologist is going to leave soon. That worry is always in the back of my mind. I feel like I'm the only person who feels like this. I feel alone. It's really hard to talk about it. I've tried to bring it up with my psychologist many times but I didn't get very far as my anxiety got in the way.