Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

KitKat17
New Contributor

Marriage and Children for a person with schizophrenia

Hi, this is my first time posting to the forum but I am worried about my adult daughter who has schizophrenia and is marrying someone who also has schizophrenia soon.  She is presently having a relapse and has never lived well with her illness for any great length of time.  She met this person under a year ago and they are now getting married in a few months after his mother made all the arrangements without my knowledge.  They also intend to have children as soon as possible. I have a good relationship with my daughter and also the person she is marrying but i am extremely concerned about how this is all going to turn out. The person she is marrying is quite controlling, but in a very loving way, and my daughter has gone from a person who is quite independent to very dependent on him.   I am happy she has met someone and is in a relationship but I feel this is moving very quickly and is getting out of hand.  Has anyone had an experience like this who could give me some advice as to how to handle this.  Thankyou.

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Marriage and Children for a person with schizophrenia

Hi @KitKat17

There are no easy answers when emotions are involved are there... before she started the relapse did you have an opportunity to speak to your daughter about how she would like to manage her mental health going forward? ie if she is in a particular state or showing particular symptoms you step in? and how she and her husband to be would like to be responded to if they are both becoming unwell at the same time?