Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Welcome & getting started

New Contributor

Am I just crazy πŸ˜”

Hello everyone I'm new to this but I'm not sure who to turn to or how to seek help. I have a partner who was addicted to drugs in his past before we met. He quit cold turkey on his own moved away and started a fresh start and his never looked back since. He quit just over a year before we met and that was over 3yrs ago. He abused drugs pretty heavily from the age of 15/16 till he was 30yrs old. He doesn't like to talk about it or anything regarding it which can be difficult because it's played a huge part of who he is today. He doesn't believe in therapy or getting help or speaking to anybody but i think some of the behavioral issues he has could very well be caused by years of substance abuse maybe. Behavioral wise his always lying, he lies about things not even worth lying about. His mentioned that sometimes he doesnt even realise his lying at times until after his lied and he thinks wtf did you just lie about that for. His very selfish self-seeking like he wont do something unless its beneficial for him.  His very manipulative also & very emotionally immature has a hard time expressing or understanding his own emotions. His also very impulsive & defensive. But my biggest concern with him is sort of like his got an addictive personality now since not abusing illegal substances. For example he might get obsessed over covid or the government and so every waking moment he has wen his not forced to be working he would obsess over everything related to covid or government and then a few months to by and then it's something new his addicted to. Atm his addicted to bitcoin. I'm fine with him having a hob