Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Magret
Casual Contributor

Feeling Guilty

Hello! I'm brand new to this but didn't really know where else to go. It might seem long-winded but I promise it's related to mental health.

My job involves working with young girls and last year one of my co-workers was just overly friendly with them. It made both me and them really uncomfortable but I didn't feel like it was my place to say anything even though he gave me the heeby-jeebies and most of the kids indicated they didn't like the way he hung around. He always sectioned out two of them and they didnt seem to mind, but still I tried my best to keep him away from them but it was hard. 

Fastforward a couple of months and I found out that he contacted these kids on social media and harrassed them for explicit photos. These are just CHILDREN and they were very upset. Obviously my workplace and the police are handling it but I still feel incredibly guilty.

I just feel like I didnt do enough to protect them and it's really affected me. I have type 1 bipolar and the guilt over this is making me miss sleep (which is one of my triggers). I've turned to alchohol to help me relax and I don't think I've gone a day without drinking since it all went down, which isn't healthy at all. I have an amazing psych but I don't want to bother him when it isn't directly related to my illness.

So, I guess I'm wondering a few things. Should I move up my scheduled psych appopintment or just wait the couple of months? How can I stop feeling so guilty? Even though I tried my best I still failed to protect them. 

Thank you so much for all your help.

11 REPLIES 11

Re: Feeling Guilty